Drafting Essay 2: Brainstorm

I remember watching CSI: Crime Scene Investigation consistently throughout the ages of twelve to sixteen. At the age of seventeen up until now, I’ve became a regular binge watcher of Prison Break and White Collar whenever I get any amount of free time. I would say I’m definitely attracted to the mystery/thriller genre and I have been for quite some time now. These are all influential in the sense that it allows the viewers to think outside the box.

For example, Prison Break is constantly throwing surprises your way as more and more conflict piles up, interrupting the planned escape. For example, there was a certain pipe that the protagonist managed to melt through (essential for the escape) that was actually replaced for one that is indestructible. The problem comes in when the viewers are unaware of this until the episode that the initial escape takes place, surprising both the characters and the audience! This of course sets the escape date back and you are left guessing what is going to happen next. This calls for thinking outside the box for the obvious reason that escaping from a prison is clearly not a simple task, whether it be in real life or on a screen of a show that is in charge of making it as realistic as possible. It is apparent that whatever will happen next won’t be something predictable, or else the show would not doing a good job under the thriller aspect. I could not possible count how many times I was left to create an alternate escape plan using what I already knew about the prison and prisoners from the previous episodes until the next week.

White Collar is another television show that calls for its viewers to subconsciously think outside the box. The show is about an incredibly intelligent and multitalented con artist working as a criminal informant for the FBI. Considering it revolves around highly wanted criminals, and the FBI, it is no surprise that the plots of each episode have intense climaxes.

Steven Johnson argues that the growth of TV shows and its level of complication that has increased over the last couple of decades has lead viewers to be intelligently effected. His argument is that the human mind to be effected in a positive direction whereas Dana Stevens explains the “ridiculousness” behind this attempted explanation of the influence behind television. Though I would not necessarily say TV has “made me smarter,” I don’t think my train of thoughts would be as creative as they have became if it weren’t for these mysteries and thrillers. I think my interest for problem solving has increased while watching a certain genre, however I could not say that it is the reason behind it

Leave a Reply

