Walmart Readings and the Labor/Work

I was introduced to Wal-Mart’s corrupt system back in 7th grade. I was visiting my brother for a week and we were driving to the supermarket and he drove right past Wal-Mart. I asked my brother why we didn’t just go there when he said that he doesn’t support the way the chain operates, so he no longer puts his money into buying from them. This is when he taught me a little bit about how they are unfair to their employees with both pay and health care aspects.

Like Karen Olsen states in Up Against Wal-Mart, I couldn’t understand why a company making over a billion a year was so unjust that it lead my brother to refuse to shop there. I also learned about Olsen’s point of the suing of Wal-Mart for sex discrimination prior to the reading when my AP Stats professor presented the case to the class to show how Statistics is useful in real life. The Statistics behind this lawsuit actually indeed find Wal-Mart guilty of doing this. I think bringing that point up made Olsen’s argument a lot stronger because it served as solid proof on Wal-Mart’s wrongdoings.

I believe my background and values learned about work influences my stand a lot relating to how the corporation handles healthcare. Jennifer McLaughlin is spoken about in the reading as she is an employee at the store that must count on Medicaid to cover her son while she goes without as there is a high deductible taken from each paycheck for it.  She puts so much effort in doing her job considering there is not even a sufficient amount of workers for the amount of things that has to get done. I would think decent healthcare would be the last thing she has to worry about for a company that successful. She is not the only one, and it is unfair that employees are victims of this with the tiny exception of managers and those that have been working there for 20+ years.

Sebastian Mallaby mentions many good points in “Progressive Wal-Mart Really.” One that sticks out the most to me is when he acknowledges that the pay at Wal-Mart is much less than the annual salary of those who work at Target and Costco, however the low prices make a huge difference. He says it benefits the poor, which I agree with. Mallaby points out that the percentage of those that are on Medicaid at Wal-Mart is equivalent to that of other large retail forms, making the health care issue seem less than it truly is. This made me second guess my opinion on how I saw the point when reading the chapter prior, so I would say I need to know more about that to settle on a position.

Leave a Reply

